Why would I want to delete data?
There are several reasons why you may want to delete data from the CDP.
- Data is stale or old and you no longer want it in your CDP
- You are trying to manage the amount of records you have in your CDP to be at your contracted limit
What types of data can I delete from the CDP?
The delete option now allows you to delete your data
- Web Visit Events
- Marketing Activities
- Account Intent
How do I delete my data?
There are two ways to delete your data
Manually delete data directly using the product UI - This works best in scenarios where you want to perform ad-hoc deletion of data e.g. you make a mistake and would like to remove incorrect data
Automated deletion of data - Applicable when your data is constantly updated and may result in stale data needing to be removed. This allows you to automate the process without having to have someone login to the product and manually trigger a delete
Manually Deleting data
You should be an administrator to delete the data. As an admin, you will see an option to delete from the My Data page.
Follow these steps to delete your data
Step1: Select the type of delete you would like to do: Partial Delete or Delete Al
If you select the option to delete individual records, the platform will require you to provide Ids of the records you are trying to delete Account Id if you are deleting accounts and Contact Id if you are deleting contacts.
It is possible some accounts and contacts are created from event data and you may not have an ID to use. In these cases, you should use the Lattice ID. Lattice ID is a unique Id generated by the platform for all accounts and contacts.
If you want to Delete All, you will need to ensure that the new data is imported within the same PA (Process and Analysis) job that the delete job is included in. To do this you can either load the new data before clicking Delete All or load the new data immediately after you click Delete All.
Delete all is a way to replace all of the current data with new data. When you select delete all you are required to load new data within the same process & analyze job. If you do not load new data, your delete action will be cancelled.
Please sign in to leave a comment.